Has anyone seen an Alien Ruler since 1.1 was released?

nmkaplan

Has anyone seen an Alien Ruler since 1.1 was released?

Post by nmkaplan »

I'm curious about this. I started playing 1.0 and turned off the DLC story missions. I encountered the Viper King relatively early on, and it took me 3 missions to take him out: a troop column, a supply raid, and a radio tower.

Since 1.1 was released, I haven't had a whiff of the Berserker Queen. What are other people's experiences post 1.1?
saroscycler

Re: Has anyone seen an Alien Ruler since 1.1 was released?

Post by saroscycler »

Viper King arrived quite late. Advanced Troopers appeared earlier than him.
Mandurang

Post by Mandurang »

Viper King showed up in a mission just before 1.1, got away, and haven't seen him (or any other rulers) since. It was a big scare too, because I had no idea that inactive DLC, but still installed, will cause the rulers to show up (and it's pretty awful in my opinion).
trihero

Post by trihero »

I haven't seen them either. I got the "weapons of the hunt" POI twice for some reason (yay for double frost bombs?), have never gotten the alien nest even through september.
dodger

Post by dodger »

Mandurang wrote:Viper King showed up in a mission just before 1.1, got away, and haven't seen him (or any other rulers) since. It was a big scare too, because I had no idea that inactive DLC, but still installed, will cause the rulers to show up (and it's pretty awful in my opinion).
It's counterintuitive, but when you uncheck the box at the start of a campaign you are disabling the DLC story mission, not the rulers showing up. If you don't want to play with the rulers, CHECK the box, and then never do the story mission.
Mandurang

Post by Mandurang »

dodger wrote: