What is a good setting for the resistance at the start of the campaign?

Share strategy and tips here.
jztemple

What is a good setting for the resistance at the start of the campaign?

Post by jztemple »

I've read a lot of suggestions on how and why to adjust the jobs of the resistance members during the campaign, but I'm a little baffled for what to do at the very beginning when I have just one haven and I'm just starting out. I know the logic of setting all of them to Intel to gain the best infiltration time, but so early in the game is it a good thing to put some on supplies and some on recruiting?

And who is the best advisor at the start? A scientist gets me Intel, but I start with no scientists and unless I want to wait to rescue one I have to spend supplies to buy one. And the same goes for engineers getting me supplies but costs me too. And I can't send a rookie as advisor either. Should I just leave the slot empty for the time being?
NephilimNexus

Re: What is a good setting for the resistance at the start of the campaign?

Post by NephilimNexus »

My take on it:

Since your starting base upkeep is going to only be around $10 a month, and you can make that by selling off a single weapon mod or body, combined with the faceless infiltrator at start that sucks away 90% of your income... screw it, nobody on supply. No point to it yet. Put everyone on intel at first to get bearable times for your missions.

Once you've got some solider experience spread around, send someone at least E3 to be an advisor until you root out the faceless spy. Once that's done you can switch to a scientist or engineer advisor... at least until you get more haven recruits. Then you'll need to repeat the process if they start losing supply again.